Royal Ballet

Ashton Triple Bill

In Cinemas 7, 8, 9 & 12 Jul 2017
Emmanuel Plasson
Orchestra of the Royal Opera House
(The Dream) Akane Takada, Steven McRae, (Symphonic Variations) Marianela Nuñez, Vadim Muntagirov, (Marguerite and Armand) Zenaida Yanowsky, Roberto Bolle
Felix Mendelssohn, César Franck & Franz Liszt
Frederick Ashton
David Walker, Sophie Fedorovitch & Cecil Beaton
3h20 incl. 2 intervals
Captured live from Covent Garden, London 7 Jun 2017
Official Event Listing

The Royal Ballet brings its celebrations of 70 years at the Royal Opera House to a close with a gorgeous mixed programme of works by its Founder Choreographer Frederick Ashton.

The Dream (1964) is Ashton's adaptation of Shakespeare's riotous comedy A Midsummer Night’s Dream in which a forest sprite plays havoc, armed with a love potion.

Set to brooding music by Franck, Symphonic Variations (1946) was Ashton's first work after WWII, a seminal masterpiece celebrating the pure beauty of movement.

Ashton created the passionate ballet Marguerite and Armand (1963) for the celebrated partnership of Margot Fonteyn and Rudolf Nureyev in 1963, to Lizst’s tempestuous Piano Sonata.


Screening at all locations, excl. Riverside.